Election Information

Pursuant to the Sioux Falls City Charter (SFCC) Section 6.01(a), regular City elections are held in even numbered years on the second Tuesday of April, making the next regular election Tuesday, April 10, 2018, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Municipal elections may be held in conjunction with regular school district elections (subject to approval by the governing bodies.) If needed, a secondary (runoff) election would be held three weeks from the date of the aforementioned election, or Tuesday, May 1, 2018.

Presently, five offices will become vacant due to the expiration of present terms of office for: Mayor, At-Large Council Member “A,” At-Large Council Member “B,” Southeast (SE) District Council Member, and Central (CE) District Council Member.

The City Clerk designates alphabetically each individual At-Large Council Member position to be filled by election. Council Member Rex Rolfing currently holds the At-Large Council Member “A” seat and Council Member Christine M. Erickson holds the At-Large Council Member “B” seat. A candidate for At-Large Council Member indicates on his or her nominating petition the specific position for which they are running (see the Sioux Falls Code of Ordinances (SFCO) § 38.010.)

Terms are four (4) years and begin the day of the third Council meeting in May following the official canvass of votes (SFCC §2.02).

To learn more about the City Council visit their webpage.

There are five Council Districts:
District 1—Southwest (SW) is comprised of all precincts designated with the prefix 1.
District 2—Southeast (SE) is comprised of all precincts designated with the prefix 2.
District 3—Northwest (NW) is comprised of all precincts designated with the prefix 3.
District 4—Northeast (NE) is comprised of all precincts designated with the prefix 4.
District 5—Central (CE) is comprised of all precincts designated with the prefix 5.

Each District is further divided into election precincts. Click on the link below to view current Council districts and precincts.

Interactive City of Sioux Falls Voting District Map

“The provisions of the general election laws of the State of South Dakota shall apply to all municipal elections unless specifically provided by city charter or city ordinance” (SFCO § 38.001). These laws are found primarily, though not exclusively, in Title 12 and Chapter 9-13 of South Dakota Codified Law, Article 5:02 of the Administrative Rules of South Dakota, Section II & VI of the City Charter, and Chapter 38 of the Code of Ordinances.

The Sioux Falls City Clerk is responsible for conducting all municipal elections (see SFCO §38.001.) All statements, forms, or filings required by law are submitted to the City Clerk. Additionally, the City Clerk: ensures all public notices associated with an election are published in accordance with state law; prepares ballots; coordinates for and trains workers; manages election day activities; presents returns to the City Council for the official canvass of votes; and, issues certificates of election.

The City of Sioux Falls uses the paper campaign finance forms prepared by and available online from the South Dakota Secretary of State’s office. Forms can be submitted to the City Clerk in-person, by e-mail, by fax, or by mail; please note the City does not use the online Campaign Finance Reporting System found on the Secretary of State’s website. Use “Local Jurisdictions” form versions when available.

Check back periodically for updates to this webpage