|
|
Databases A-Z- Ancestry Library
Ancestry Library
Only available within Siouxland Libraries branches. Provides access to more than one billion names in more than 3,000 databases, including digital images of the 1790-1930 U.S. censuses, as well as immigration, court, church and ethnic records, city directories, genealogical societies, Social Security Death Index, Civil War Pension Index, and 700 historical maps. Now includes 90 million U.S. war records from 1607-1975 and gravestone details of 3.5 million deceased U.S. soldiers. VIEW - Argus Leader
Argus Leader
Full text articles from the Argus Leader archives. Coverage from 2002 to the present. VIEW - Auto Repair Reference Center
Auto Repair Reference Center
Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Includes repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. VIEW - Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier
Provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. VIEW - Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete
Health and wellness information for the consumer, including thousands of articles and pamphlets, drug guides, health reference books, images, and videos. VIEW - EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas: health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
Online Guide VIEW - HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest
Includes 25,000+ family and local history books as well as page images and indexes from all U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930. VIEW - InfoTrac Professional Collection
InfoTrac Professional Collection
Full-text journal articles geared for educators. VIEW - InfoTrac Student Edition
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students to access full text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
View navigation guide. VIEW - LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more.
Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Online Guide VIEW - Mango Languages
Mango Languages
Mango Languages is an interactive and conversational approach to acquiring a second language, offering 29 foreign languages for English Speakers and 14 ESL programs for non-English speakers. Includes voice comparison technology to help assist patrons in their speaking skills. VIEW - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center
Articles and essays presenting multiple points of view, organized around 250 current and controversial topics. Resources for students include guides to develop a thesis statement and write a persuasive essay. VIEW - ProQuest
ProQuest
Articles from leading popular magazines, newspapers, reference books, and professional publications.
Online Guide VIEW - South Dakota Library Network
South Dakota Library NetworkSearch for books and other materials in South Dakota libraries. VIEW - SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
Research help for students in grades 6-12.
View user guide VIEW - SIRS Discoverer (Grades K-6)
- Sanborn Maps
Sanborn Maps
Provides access to historical maps for over 70 towns in South Dakota, including Sioux Falls. Dates range from 1870 to 1950.
View user guide. VIEW - Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center
Full text from hundreds of science reference books and periodicals, covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. VIEW - Student Resources in Context
Student Resources in Context
Research material for all the major subject areas, with full text articles from reference books and periodicals, primary sources, and multimedia. VIEW - World Book Advanced
World Book Advanced
The advanced (high school & college) version of World Book Encyclopedia Online includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source material.
Online Guide VIEW - World Book Online Reference Center
World Book Online Reference Center
The online version of World Book Encyclopedia includes state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites, and much more.
Online Guide VIEW - World Book Encyclopedia en Espanol
World Book Encyclopedia en Espanol
La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia. VIEW - World Book Online for Kids
World Book Online for Kids
The online version of World Book Encyclopedia includes state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites, and much more.
Online Guide VIEW - WorldCat
WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive online bibliography with 74 million records from thousands of libraries across the U.S. and the world. VIEW - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Other Links- Google
GoogleInternet search engine. (www.google.com) VIEW
KidsOther Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Ask for Kids
Ask for KidsA search engine for kids with links to homework sites, online games, video and images. (www.askkids.com/schoolhouse) VIEW - Fact Monster
Fact MonsterA reference site for kids ages 8-14 with cool stuff, games, homework help and much more. (www.factmonster.com) VIEW - Homework Center
Homework CenterHomework help from Multnomah County Library. (http://www.multcolib.org/homework) VIEW - HomeworkSpot.com
HomeworkSpot.comHomework-related sites gathered into one spot (www.homeworkspot.com) VIEW - Internet Public Library for Kids
Internet Public Library for KidsInformation you can trust on a variety of topics. (www.ipl.org/div/kidspace) VIEW - KidsClick!
KidsClick!Links to web sites for kids on over 600 different subjects. (www.kidsclick.org) VIEW
Teens- InfoTrac Student Edition
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students to access full text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
View navigation guide. VIEW - LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more.
Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Online Guide VIEW - Mango Languages
Mango Languages
Mango Languages is an interactive and conversational approach to acquiring a second language, offering 29 foreign languages for English Speakers and 14 ESL programs for non-English speakers. Includes voice comparison technology to help assist patrons in their speaking skills. VIEW - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center
Articles and essays presenting multiple points of view, organized around 250 current and controversial topics. Resources for students include guides to develop a thesis statement and write a persuasive essay. VIEW - ProQuest
ProQuest
Articles from leading popular magazines, newspapers, reference books, and professional publications.
Online Guide VIEW - SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
Research help for students in grades 6-12.
View user guide VIEW - Student Resources in Context
Student Resources in Context
Research material for all the major subject areas, with full text articles from reference books and periodicals, primary sources, and multimedia. VIEW - World Book Advanced
World Book Advanced
The advanced (high school & college) version of World Book Encyclopedia Online includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source material.
Online Guide VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Campus Tours
Campus ToursInformation, photos and virtual tours of colleges and universities. (www.campustours.com) VIEW - EduTrek
EduTrekSearch engine for finding colleges, student loans, entrance exams, majors, and more. (www.edutrek.com) VIEW - High School Ace
High School AceA web guide to online resources for high school students. (www.highschoolace.com) VIEW - IPL Teenspace
IPL TeenspaceInternet Public Library’s Teen Space has links to information on money and work, technology, sports, entertainment, homework and much more. (www.ipl.org/div/teen) VIEW
Arts & Entertainment- ProQuest
ProQuest
Articles from leading popular magazines, newspapers, reference books, and professional publications.
Online Guide VIEW
Other Links- Amazon.com Music
Amazon.com MusicWhat’s new and popular in music from Amazon.com, with customer reviews and recommendations. (www.amazon.com/music) VIEW - American Memory (Library of Congress)
American Memory (Library of Congress)Free Library of Congress online collection of creative works from American history, with images, recordings, prints, maps, and sheet music. (www.loc.gov/ammem/index.html) VIEW - ArtCyclopedia
ArtCyclopediaInformation on great art and artists, and major movements in art. (www.artcyclopedia.com) VIEW - Internet Movie Database
Internet Movie DatabaseInformation on thousands of movies, TV Shows, and actors. (www.imdb.com) VIEW - Lyrics.com
Lyrics.comLook up lyrics for popular songs by artist or title. (www.lyrics.com) VIEW - MetaCritic
- Radio-Locator
Radio-LocatorLinks to over 10,000 radio station websites and 2500 streaming broadcasts around the US and world. (www.radio-locator.com) VIEW - Washington Pavilion
Washington PavilionCalendar of events, programs, exhibits and special attractions at the Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science. (www.washingtonpavilion.org) VIEW
Automobiles- Auto Repair Reference Center
Auto Repair Reference Center
Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Includes repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Auto MD
Auto MDAuto repair cost estimate calculator, repair diagnosis, and do-it-yourself guides, articles, and videos. (www.automd.com) VIEW - Car Soup
Car SoupSearch for new and used cars for sale by location, with resources for buyers and sellers. (www.carsoup.com) VIEW - Cars.com
Cars.comBuy, sell, and research new and used cars by location. (www.cars.com) VIEW - Edmunds
EdmundsFind new and used vehicle prices, ratings, and reviews. Also search what’s for sale in your area. (www.edmunds.com) VIEW - Kelley Blue Book
Kelley Blue BookThe Kelley Blue Book online, for researching new and used cars and pricing. (www.kbb.com) VIEW
Books, Reading & Authors- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Student Resources in Context
Student Resources in Context
Research material for all the major subject areas, with full text articles from reference books and periodicals, primary sources, and multimedia. VIEW - WorldCat
WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive online bibliography with 74 million records from thousands of libraries across the U.S. and the world. VIEW
Other LinksBusiness & Finance- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier
Provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. VIEW - EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Better Business Bureau
Better Business BureauProfiles of companies and their business and financial practices. (www.bbb.org) VIEW - Budget Worksheets
Budget WorksheetsFree printable budget worksheets for managing household, vacation, retirement and other spending. (www.budgetworksheets.org) VIEW - Business.gov
Business.govGovernment information and resources for starting and growing a business, including finding loans and grants. (www.business.gov) VIEW - Foundation Center
Foundation CenterInformation on grantmaking organizations and statistics on funding activities. (http://foundationcenter.org/findfunders) VIEW - Investopedia.Com
Investopedia.ComEducational articles for investors, tutorials, and professional exam preparation. (www.investopedia.com) VIEW - Mint.com
Mint.comFree online financial planning that uses your banking information and compiles a personal financial profile, to help track spending and saving. Also provides advice on credit cards and investments. (www.mint.com) VIEW - Mortgage Calculator
Mortgage CalculatorOver 100 mortgage and loan payment calculators. (www.mortgageloan.com/calculator) VIEW - New York Stock Exchange
New York Stock ExchangeReal-time stock prices and market news. (www.nyse.com) VIEW - SD Secretary of State Business Services
SD Secretary of State Business ServicesInformation on regulations for businesses in South Dakota. (www.sdsos.gov/busineservices/busineservices_overview.shtm) VIEW - Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce
Sioux Falls Chamber of CommerceLocal business information and news. (www.siouxfallschamber.com) VIEW - U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
U.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeSearch existing patents online and get information on applying for a patent. (www.uspto.gov/main/patents.htm) VIEW - U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionSearch business filings with the US Securities and Exchange Commission. (www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml) VIEW - U.S. Small Business Administration
U.S. Small Business AdministrationResources for business startup and management. (www.sba.gov) VIEW
Education- EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW - InfoTrac Professional Collection
InfoTrac Professional Collection
Full-text journal articles geared for educators. VIEW - LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more.
Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Online Guide VIEW
Other LinksEncyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Directories- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas: health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
Online Guide VIEW - InfoTrac Student Edition
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students to access full text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
View navigation guide. VIEW - World Book Advanced
World Book Advanced
The advanced (high school & college) version of World Book Encyclopedia Online includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source material.
Online Guide VIEW - World Book Encyclopedia en Espanol
World Book Encyclopedia en Espanol
La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia. VIEW - World Book Online for Kids
World Book Online for Kids
The online version of World Book Encyclopedia includes state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites, and much more.
Online Guide VIEW - World Book Online Reference Center
World Book Online Reference Center
The online version of World Book Encyclopedia includes state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites, and much more.
Online Guide VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Answers.com
Answers.comCompiles search results from different online encyclopedias and dictionaries. (www.answers.com) VIEW - Dictionary.com
Dictionary.comSearchable dictionary and thesaurus, with audio pronunciations of words. (www.dictionary.com) VIEW - Help!Line
Help!LineCommunity Help!Line for South Dakota—searchable database of thousands of programs and services in the area. (www.211sd.org/search_db.php) VIEW - Infoplease Almanac
Infoplease AlmanacOnline almanac and encyclopedia, with featured current events and articles. (www.infoplease.com) VIEW - Internet 800 Directory
Internet 800 DirectoryDirectory of hard-to-find toll-free phone numbers for companies. (www.inter800.com) VIEW - Library Spot
Library SpotFind answers to commonly asked questions and links to sites with fast facts. (www.libraryspot.com) VIEW - Switchboard
SwitchboardFind business and residential phone numbers and addresses. (www.switchboard.com) VIEW - White Pages
White PagesLook up people by name, address or phone. (www.whitepages.com) VIEW - Yellow Pages
Yellow PagesSearch for business addresses and phone numbers. (www.yellowpages.com) VIEW - Your Dictionary
Your DictionaryOnline dictionary with resources for translation. (www.yourdictionary.com) VIEW - Zip Code Lookup
Zip Code LookupUS Postal Service site for looking up zip codes by address and city. (http://zip4.usps.com/zip4) VIEW
Genealogy- Ancestry Library
Ancestry Library
Only available within Siouxland Libraries branches. Provides access to more than one billion names in more than 3,000 databases, including digital images of the 1790-1930 U.S. censuses, as well as immigration, court, church and ethnic records, city directories, genealogical societies, Social Security Death Index, Civil War Pension Index, and 700 historical maps. Now includes 90 million U.S. war records from 1607-1975 and gravestone details of 3.5 million deceased U.S. soldiers. VIEW - HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest
Includes 25,000+ family and local history books as well as page images and indexes from all U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Cindi's List
Cindi's ListA list of genealogy websites contains over 200,000 relevant links. (www.cyndislist.com) VIEW - Family Search
Family SearchClearinghouse for genealogy research from the Latter-Day Saints. (www.familysearch.org) VIEW - National Archives
National ArchivesThe National Archives and Records Administration, with finding aids and indexes. (www.archives.gov/genealogy) VIEW - Sioux Valley Genealogical Society
Sioux Valley Genealogical SocietyMeeting and contact information, and links to sites for South Dakota genealogy. (http://siouxvalleygenealogicalsociety.org) VIEW - USGenWeb Project
USGenWeb ProjectSearching guides and links to free genealogy sites, for every state in the US. (www.usgenweb.org) VIEW
Health- Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete
Health and wellness information for the consumer, including thousands of articles and pamphlets, drug guides, health reference books, images, and videos. VIEW - EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas: health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
Online Guide VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Avera McKennan
Avera McKennanHomepage of Avera McKennan Health and University Medical Center, in Sioux Falls. (www.avera.org/amck) VIEW - Centers for Disease Control
Centers for Disease ControlHealth and safety alerts from the government, information on various diseases and general health topics. (www.cdc.gov) VIEW - Family Doctor
Family DoctorInformation on a variety of topics from the American Academy of Family Physicians. (www.familydoctor.org ) VIEW - HealthFinder
HealthFinderConsumer health information including personal health calculators, quick reference guides and tools to locate health providers. (www.healthfinder.gov) VIEW - Mayo Clinic
Mayo ClinicHealth information on many topics from the Mayo Clinic. (www.mayoclinic.com) VIEW - Medline Plus
Medline PlusSearchable database put together by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health, with links to reputable medical information. (www.medlineplus.gov) VIEW - Sanford Health
Sanford HealthHomepage of Sanford Health. (www.sanfordhealth.org) VIEW
History & Biography- EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center
Articles and essays presenting multiple points of view, organized around 250 current and controversial topics. Resources for students include guides to develop a thesis statement and write a persuasive essay. VIEW - SIRS Discoverer (Grades K-6)
SIRS Discoverer (Grades K-6)
For students in grades K-6 who need help with a school project.
Tutorial for parents and teachers VIEW - SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
Research help for students in grades 6-12.
View user guide VIEW - Student Resources in Context
Student Resources in Context
Research material for all the major subject areas, with full text articles from reference books and periodicals, primary sources, and multimedia. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - American Rhetoric
American RhetoricDatabase of more than 5,000 full-text speeches, declarations, debates and other significant media events in history. With audio. (www.americanrhetoric.com) VIEW - America's Historical Documents
America's Historical DocumentsImportant documents from US History, such as the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, with background information. (www.archives.gov/historical-docs) VIEW - Best of History Web Sites
Best of History Web SitesAnnotated links for thousands of history sites by time period. (www.besthistorysites.net) VIEW - Biography.com
Biography.comOnline biographies from the A&E channel, with over 25,000 brief profiles of notable people. (www.biography.com) VIEW - PBS History
PBS HistorySpotlight on different history topics, with articles and video, from the Public Broadcasting Service. (www.pbs.org/history) VIEW - Today in History
Today in HistorySignificant moments in history from Newspaper Archive. (http://newspaperarchive.com/DailyPerspectiveFullView.aspx) VIEW - Year by Year Almanac
Year by Year AlmanacAlmanac of significant events and people for each year in history. (www.infoplease.com/yearbyyear.html) VIEW
Immigration- LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more.
Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Online Guide VIEW
Other LinksInternet & EmailOther LinksJob Searching- LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more.
Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Online Guide VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - CareerBuilder
CareerBuilderSearch for jobs locally and nationally by category and keyword. (www.careerbuilder.com) VIEW - CareerOneStop
CareerOneStopAssistance with exploring careers, writing resumes, interviewing and locating jobs. (www.careeronestop.org) VIEW - Career Site
Career SiteJob searching and tips for making a good impression. (www.careersite.com) VIEW - Glassdoor
GlassdoorSalaries, reviews, and interview tips posted by employees at over 26,000 companies (www.glassdoor.com) VIEW - Monster.com
Monster.comLarge national database of jobs. (www.monster.com) VIEW - The Riley Guide
The Riley GuideA gateway site with links to job banks, career information, and job seeking tips. (www.rileyguide.com) VIEW - South Dakota Department of Labor
South Dakota Department of LaborResources for job seekers and local job postings. (http://dol.sd.gov) VIEW - South Dakota Labor Market Information Center
South Dakota Labor Market Information CenterStatistics on employment levels, wage and earnings data, and employment projections. (http://dol.sd.gov/lmic) VIEW - U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsEmployment, salary, and inflation statistics from the federal government. (www.bls.gov) VIEW - Wall Street Journal Careers
Wall Street Journal CareersCareer news on a variety of topics from the Wall Street Journal (www.careerjournal.com) VIEW
Language Learning & ESL- Mango Languages
Mango Languages
Mango Languages is an interactive and conversational approach to acquiring a second language, offering 29 foreign languages for English Speakers and 14 ESL programs for non-English speakers. Includes voice comparison technology to help assist patrons in their speaking skills. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Basic English Practice
Basic English PracticeEnglish listening and reading exercises, with topics like health, environment, and life skills. (www.mcedservices.com/online.html) VIEW - BBC Languages
BBC LanguagesOnline courses for French, Spanish, German, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, and Greek. (www.bbc.co.uk/languages) VIEW - English for All
English for AllVideos and quizzes on topics including working, renting an apartment, and learning English. (www.myefa.org) VIEW - English Learning Activities
English Learning ActivitiesEnglish grammar and vocabulary activities for students at many levels. (http://a4esl.org) VIEW - ESL Listening Lab
ESL Listening LabListen to everyday conversations in English and answer comprehension questions. (http://www.esl-lab.com) VIEW - I Love Languages
I Love LanguagesThousands of annotated links to free language learning sites. (www.ilovelanguages.com) VIEW - Online English Exercises and Stories
Online English Exercises and StoriesBasic online exercise for learning English, with many levels of stories for reading and listening practice. (www.marshalladulteducation.org) VIEW
Laws & GovernmentOther Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Internal Revenue Service
Internal Revenue ServiceHomepage of the Internal Revenue Service, with tax information and forms for individuals and businesses. (www.irs.gov) VIEW - Minnehaha County
Minnehaha CountyLinks to county agencies, services, and information. (www.minnehahacounty.org) VIEW - Recalls.gov
Recalls.govUp-to-date information on product recalls from the federal government. (www.recalls.gov) VIEW - South Dakota Code
South Dakota CodeSearchable full text of the South Dakota Codified Laws and Constitution. (http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/index.aspx) VIEW - South Dakota Municipal League
South Dakota Municipal LeagueLinks to websites of South Dakota cities. VIEW - State of South Dakota
State of South Dakota Links to state agencies, forms, and other government information. (www.sd.gov) VIEW - U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census BureauPopulation and demographic statistics for the US. (www.census.gov) VIEW - U.S. Code
U.S. CodeSearchable full text of the United States Code. (www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode) VIEW - U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. House of RepresentativesFind and contact your representative. (www.house.gov) VIEW - U.S. Senate
U.S. SenateFind and contact a senator. (www.senate.gov) VIEW - USA.gov
USA.govOfficial site of the US government, with information on elected officials and voting, government jobs, and other topics of interest to consumers. (www.usa.gov) VIEW
Libraries- South Dakota Library Network
South Dakota Library NetworkSearch for books and other materials in South Dakota libraries. VIEW - WorldCat
WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive online bibliography with 74 million records from thousands of libraries across the U.S. and the world. VIEW
Other LinksMagazines & Newspapers- Argus Leader
Argus Leader
Full text articles from the Argus Leader archives. Coverage from 2002 to the present. VIEW - EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW - ProQuest
ProQuest
Articles from leading popular magazines, newspapers, reference books, and professional publications.
Online Guide VIEW - SIRS Discoverer (Grades K-6)
- SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
Research help for students in grades 6-12.
View user guide VIEW
Other LinksMaps & GeographyOther Links- 50 States
50 StatesBasic facts and geography for all 50 states. (www.50states.com) VIEW - Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - CIA World Factbook
CIA World FactbookUS Government profiles of countries, with information on geography, government, people, economy, communications, and other statistics. (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html) VIEW - Google Maps
Google MapsWorld maps and satellite images, driving directions, “mash-up” maps featuring locations of interest. (http://maps.google.com) VIEW - MapQuest
MapQuestMaps and driving directions. (www.mapquest.com) VIEW - Sioux Falls Geographical Information System
Sioux Falls Geographical Information SystemDownloadable planning maps from Sioux Falls GIS. (Free ones on right side.) (www.siouxfalls.org/GIS/maps) VIEW - Yahoo! Maps
Yahoo! MapsMaps, driving directions, traffic reports. (http://maps.yahoo.com) VIEW
News & Weather- Argus Leader
Argus Leader
Full text articles from the Argus Leader archives. Coverage from 2002 to the present. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - CNN
CNNNational and international news headlines. (www.cnn.com) VIEW - Google News
Google NewsNews on the web compiled from thousands of sources, updated continuously. (http://news.google.com) VIEW - KDLT News
KDLT NewsLocal news and weather. (www.kdlt.com) VIEW - KELO News
KELO NewsLocal news and weather. (www.keloland.com) VIEW - KSFY News
KSFY NewsLocal news and weather. (www.ksfy.com) VIEW - National Weather Service
National Weather ServiceWarnings, forecasts, and weather statistics. (www.nws.noaa.gov) VIEW - Reuters News Wire
Reuters News WireLatest national and international news from Reuters service. (www.reuters.com) VIEW - Travel Conditions
Travel ConditionsRoad conditions and travel info for South Dakota and surrounding states. (www.sddot.com/travinfo.asp) VIEW - Weather Channel
Weather ChannelSearch by location for weather conditions. (www.weather.com) VIEW - Weather Underground
Weather UndergroundWeather conditions searchable by state, city, zip code. (www.wunderground.com) VIEW
Practice Tests- LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more.
Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Online Guide VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - GED Math
GED MathPractice GED questions and study guides from McGraw Hill. (www.gedmath.com) VIEW - GED Reading
GED ReadingPractice GED questions and study guides from McGraw Hill. (www.gedreading.com) VIEW - GED Science
GED SciencePractice GED questions and study guides from McGraw Hill. (www.gedscience.com) VIEW - GED Social Studies
GED Social StudiesPractice GED questions and study guides from McGraw Hill. (www.gedsocialstudies.com) VIEW - GED Writing
GED WritingPractice GED questions and study guides from McGraw Hill. (www.gedwriting.com) VIEW - Number2.com
Number2.comFree practice prep courses for the SAT, ACT, and GRE. Requires registration to use. (www.number2.com) VIEW - Practice Tests
Practice TestsPractice exam questions for educational and professional standardized tests. (www.4tests.com) VIEW - PreGED and GED Study
PreGED and GED StudyPBS Literacy Link—PreGED and GED study online. (http://litlink.ket.org) VIEW
Science- EBSCO Megafile
EBSCO Megafile
Full text for nearly 12,000 publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Also includes more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. VIEW - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas: health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
Online Guide VIEW - InfoTrac Student Edition
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students to access full text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
View navigation guide. VIEW - Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center
Full text from hundreds of science reference books and periodicals, covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. VIEW - SIRS Discoverer (Grades K-6)
- SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
SIRS Issues Researcher (Grades 6-12)
Research help for students in grades 6-12.
View user guide VIEW - Student Resources in Context
Student Resources in Context
Research material for all the major subject areas, with full text articles from reference books and periodicals, primary sources, and multimedia. VIEW
Other Links- Ask A Librarian
Ask A LibrarianSubmit your question to our research department. VIEW - Discovery Channel
Discovery ChannelFeatures articles and links to popular science topics. (http://dsc.discovery.com) VIEW - NASA
NASASpace program images and news. (www.nasa.gov) VIEW - PBS History
PBS HistorySpotlight on different history topics, with articles and video, from the Public Broadcasting Service. (www.pbs.org/history) VIEW - Science.gov
Science.govSearch engine and links to databases and websites containing science info and research from the US government. (www.science.gov) VIEW
|
|