School Traffic Safety Advisory Committee (PATH)

The School Safety Advisory Board, better known as the Pedestrians Avoiding Traffic Hazards (PATH) Committee is a group made up of City officials, school officials, professional safety advocates, and citizens. The board meets four to eight times a year as determined by need to review pedestrian safety issues related to schools. The board establishes the SAFE routes to school for all of the elementary schools in the City of Sioux Falls including Sioux Falls public schools, Harrisburg public schools, Brandon Valley public schools, and private schools. The board recommends traffic control devices such as pavement markings and signs that should be installed or changed to improve safety along the SAFE routes to schools.

Number of Members


Special Qualifications

Eight citizens represent the four quadrants of the city as defined by the boundaries of 18th Street and Minnesota Avenue, the city PTA president, and one representative from each of the following: the School District Central Office administration, an elementary school principal, Sioux Falls School Board, the SD Safety Council, South Dakota AAA, Sioux Falls Catholic Schools, the Police Department, and the City Engineering Division's Traffic Engineer.

Residency/Registered Voter Requirement

Must be a resident and registered voter of Sioux Falls.

Summary of Duties

Guide and coordinate all activities associated with the general school safety programs.

Heath Hoftiezer
Principal Traffic Engineer
Public Works/Engineering
City Center, 2nd Floor
231 N Dakota
P.O. Box 7402
Sioux Falls, SD 57117-7402