Mayor TenHaken Announces 2021–22 Mayor’s Youth Council

Mayor Paul TenHaken is pleased to announce the students selected for the 2021–22 Mayor’s Youth Council. The inaugural class is composed of 13 Sioux Falls juniors and seniors, including representation from private, public, and homeschooled students.

The following students have been selected to serve on the Mayor’s Youth Council: Andrew Nguyen and Morgan Whiting, Jefferson High School; Lailene Conde, Aida Desaulniers, Emma Forster, Chloe Houwman, and Mhire (Tab) Tsegaye, Lincoln High School; Michael Grismer, Roosevelt High School; Maleah Grigsby and Daniel Colby, Sioux Falls Christian; Antoinette Bita and Sam Markley, Washington High School; and Riley Neff, homeschooled.

“We received many excellent applications from students across Sioux Falls, and the selection committee was impressed with the quality of applicants and their commitment to civic responsibility,” said Mayor TenHaken. “Thank you to all the students who applied. I’m looking forward to working with the students selected for the 2021–22 Mayor’s Youth Council and seeing the great things that this council will achieve for Sioux Falls. This is an engaged, service‑minded group of student leaders that will help shape what the Sioux Falls of tomorrow needs to look like for our youth.”

The purpose of the Mayor’s Youth Council is to provide youth an opportunity to share input on community issues, learn about City government, and develop leadership skills through a coordinated community project. The 2021–22 term kicked off on Saturday, October 16, 2021, with team‑building exercises and presentations from City leadership and will conclude with a graduation in May 2022. Meetings will be held monthly, in addition to other activities and events, including the community project.

Mayor’s Youth Council

The Mayor’s Youth Council is led by a core planning team of City team members: Dustin Hansen, Street Operations Manager; Holly Meier, Sustainability Coordinator; Chris Myers, Water Operations Manager; and Lieutenant Andrew Siebenborn, Sioux Falls Police Department.

For more information, visit

# # #

2021-22 Mayor’s Youth Council Group Photo (click to download; not pictured: Andrew Nguyen)

Share This